Portraits of the Artists

Ten years ago, or so, I visited Paul at his studio. We painted each other. It went fairly well, much better than when we’d gone out together to paint landscapes. On those occasions, Paul ended up chasing me through the woods at palette-knife-point for watching over his shoulder, talking, or making crumbs. On this occasion, I painted him first. My picture is the one on the bottom, a small oil, 12″ by 9″. Painting it exhausted me. He painted his larger oil of me after lunch, and I kept falling asleep on him as I sat. Thus the afternoon ended in tears, but with two decent paintings. Paul’s dealer bought mine at a group show at which Paul, dealer, and I exhibited with Andrey Tamarchenko in Phlladelphia. Paul’s painting illustrates my poem “The Marquis” at Soundzine.

Leave a Reply

